Centuries of Sustenance
The Mill at Hop Brook has been an integral part of Simsbury’s history since the 17th century. The unique structure has inspired not only Millwright’s New England cuisine but also the restaurant’s name.
In 1679 The Village of Simsbury entered into a contract with Thomas Barrows, Ephriam Howard, John Moses, and John Terry, to erect a grist and sawmill on Hop Brook. The partners agreed to keep the mills in good repair, to grind grain for the tolls allowed by law, and to sell to the inhabitants boards at four and six pence per hundred. In consideration of which, the town allowed them the mill privileges, the right to take.
Chef/Owner Tyler Anderson feels a kinship with the millwrights who built and maintained the mill’s machinery to refine lumber and process grains for the townspeople. Now, as the millwright of a renovated building and modern kitchen, Tyler and his staff will provide sustenance for local and out-of-town guests at the mill-turned-restaurant.